Skip to main content

Lord Jim

Audio Preview

audio
Lord Jim




Librivox recording of Lord Jim, by Joseph Conrad.

Read by Stewart Wills.

A classic of early literary modernism, Lord Jim tells the story of a young "simple and sensitive character" who loses his honor in a display of cowardice at sea -- and of his expiation of that sin against his own "shadowy ideal of conduct" on the remote island of Patusan. The novel, written by Conrad for magazine serialization during an intense and chaotic ten months in 1899 and 1900, has, in the words of Thomas C. Moser, "the rare distinction of being a masterpiece in two separate genres. It is at once an exotic adventure story of the Eastern seas in the popular tradition of Kipling and Stevenson and a complexly wrought 'art novel' in the tradition of Flaubert and James. (summary by Stewart Wills)

For further information, including links to online text, reader information, RSS feeds, CD cover or other formats (if available), please go to the LibriVox catalog page for this recording.

For more information, or to volunteer, visit librivox.org.

Download M4B Part 1 (78MB)
Download M4B Part 2 (83MB)


Source Librivox recording of a public-domain text
Run time 14:25:17

comment
Reviews

Reviewer: prat - favoritefavoritefavoritefavoritefavorite - September 23, 2009
Subject: Great reading
I enjoyed the reading - it was a great experience.
Reviewer: bup - favoritefavoritefavoritefavorite - January 18, 2008
Subject: Good reading
If you want to do Lord Jim as an audio book, this is the version to get.

Seriously. I tried it as an audio book before, and I couldn't get through it - the reader was treating it as his own Broadway one-man show, and the voices were so affected I couldn't take it.

Wills' reading, on the other hand, is bright, inflective, and interesting, but at the same time it's still Joseph Conrad's book that's the star of the show. Wills doesn't distract you - you forget that he's there, and you just listen.

As for the book itself, well, plenty has been written about Lord Jim, better than I could write it. It's a classic.
DOWNLOAD OPTIONS
Uploaded by
librivoxbooks
on 1/1/2007
Views
175,739
Favorites
7
Reviews
2
SIMILAR ITEMS (based on metadata)
eye
Title
Date Archived
Creator
The LibriVox Free Audiobook Collection
by Joseph Conrad
audio
eye 15,994
favorite 4
comment 1
favoritefavoritefavoritefavoritefavorite ( 1 reviews )
Source: Librivox recording of a public-domain text
The LibriVox Free Audiobook Collection
by Joseph Conrad
audio
eye 6,057
favorite 0
comment 0
Source: Librivox recording of a public-domain text
The LibriVox Free Audiobook Collection
by Joseph Conrad
audio
eye 27,436
favorite 0
comment 0
Source: Librivox recording of a public-domain text
The LibriVox Free Audiobook Collection
by Joseph Conrad
audio
eye 400,329
favorite 20
comment 7
favoritefavoritefavorite ( 7 reviews )
Source: Librivox recording of a public-domain text
The LibriVox Free Audiobook Collection
by Joseph Conrad
audio
eye 50,433
favorite 3
comment 0
Source: Librivox recording of a public-domain text
The LibriVox Free Audiobook Collection
by Joseph Conrad
audio
eye 60,612
favorite 6
comment 1
favoritefavoritefavoritefavoritefavorite ( 1 reviews )
Source: Librivox recording of a public-domain text
The LibriVox Free Audiobook Collection
by Anonymous
audio
eye 28,354
favorite 2
comment 0
Source: Librivox recording of a public-domain text
The LibriVox Free Audiobook Collection
by Joseph Conrad
audio
eye 43
favorite 0
comment 0
The LibriVox Free Audiobook Collection
by W. W. Denslow
audio
eye 52,032
favorite 2
comment 0
Source: Librivox recording of a public-domain text
The LibriVox Free Audiobook Collection
by Joseph Conrad
audio
eye 5,855
favorite 1
comment 0